Game-Changer Alert: ECI Drops Bombshell with Assam’s New Constituency Delimitation List!

Rate this post
Game-Changer Alert: ECI Drops Bombshell with Assam's New Constituency Delimitation List!

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has officially released the definitive order outlining the boundary adjustments for Assembly and Parliamentary constituencies in Assam. Within this final document, the ECI has made changes to the designations of 19 Assembly constituencies and one Parliamentary constituency. These adjustments address approximately 45% of the objections raised by the public and various organizations.

According to the updated list, 19 Assembly constituencies and two Parliamentary constituencies have been designated for Scheduled Tribes (ST), while nine Assembly constituencies and one Parliamentary constituency have been allocated for Scheduled Castes (SCs). Throughout the process of drafting the delimitation proposal, the Commission encountered conflicting appeals from the public, political parties, and groups seeking modifications to the names of specific Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies. These appeals highlighted the historical, cultural, political, and ethnic significance of the region.

Rajiv Kumar, the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), commended the ability of different segments of Assam’s population to express their divergent views on various matters in a respectful and harmonious manner, without giving rise to conflicts or animosity.

As per the final decree, the names of several assembly constituencies have been altered: Mankachar has been renamed BirsingJarua; South Salmara is now known as Mankachar; Manikpur has been changed to Srijangram; Bhowanipur is now Bhowanipur-Sorbhog; Rupshi has been renamed Pakabetbari; Boko (ST) is now Boko-Chaygaon (ST); Hajo (SC) has been adjusted to Hajo-Sualkuchi (SC); Gobardhana is now Manas; Batadraba has been changed to Dhing; Nagaon is now Nagaon-Batadraba; Sootea has been renamed Nadaur; Chabua has been adjusted to Chabua-Lahowal; Moran is now Khowang; Dima Hasao (ST) is transformed into Haflong (ST); Algapur is now Algapur-Katlicherra; Badarpur has been changed to Karimganj North; North Karimganj is now Karimganj South; South Karimganj is adjusted to Patharkandi; and Ratabari (SC) is now Ram Krishna Nagar (SC).

On the other hand, the Darrang Parliamentary constituency (originally known as Mangaldai) has been renamed Darrang-Udalguri, while the Kalibor Parliamentary constituency has been modified to Kaziranga.

In terms of administrative divisions, villages in rural areas and wards in urban areas serve as the foundational units. These units remain whole and undivided throughout the State. The final list has been compiled based on developmental administrative units such as Development Blocks, Panchayats (VCDC in BTAD), and villages in rural regions, as well as Municipal Boards and urban wards.

The count of SC assembly seats has increased from 8 to 9, while ST assembly seats have risen from 16 to 19. An additional assembly seat has been added to the autonomous districts of West Karbi Anglong district. Within the Bodoland region, the number of Assembly constituencies has risen from 11 to 15.

Certain Assembly constituencies within the Diphu and Kokrajhar Parliamentary seats have been designated for ST representation, while the Lakhimpur Parliamentary seat will remain unreserved. Similarly, one Assembly constituency in Dhemaji district has been designated as unreserved.

Regarding parliamentary representation, the Diphu seat has been reserved for STs, covering six Assembly constituencies from three autonomous districts. The Barak Valley districts, namely Cachar, Hailakandi, and Karimganj, have been granted two Parliamentary seats. One of these seats has been named ‘Kaziranga,’ and a new Assembly constituency has been named ‘Manas.’

In the process of delimitation, efforts have been made to create compact constituencies while considering geographical features, population density, existing administrative boundaries, communication facilities, and public convenience. Due to significant inter-district variations in certain aspects like geography, population density, transportation infrastructure, and contiguity, some deviations from the state and district averages have been allowed, as it is not always feasible to maintain perfectly equal populations across all constituencies.

Since the previous delimitation in 1976, the number of districts in Assam has increased from 10 to 31, resulting in significant changes in the structure of administrative units at the Development Block and Gram Panchayat levels. The Commission has categorized the 31 districts into three main groups: A, B, and C, with a margin of (+/-) 10% of the average population per Assembly Constituency (AC) while distributing constituencies among districts. The state’s average population density stands at 338 persons per Based on this, three categories have been established:

A – Districts with a population density below 304 persons per
B – Districts with a population density ranging from 304 to 372 persons per
C – Districts with a population density exceeding 372 persons per

The final decree specifies the Assembly constituencies included in each Parliamentary constituency:

  • Kokrajhar (ST) Parliamentary constituency: Gossaigaon, Dotama, Kokrajhar, Baokhungri, Parbotjhara, Sidli-Chirang, Bijni, Manas, and Baksa assembly constituencies.
  • Dhubri Parliamentary constituency: Golakganj, Gauripur, Dhubri, BirsingJarua, Bilasipara, Mankachar, Jaleshwar, Goalpara (east), Srijangram, Mandia, and Chenga assembly constituencies.
  • Barpeta Parliamentary constituency: Abhayapuri, Bongaigaon, Bhowanipur-Sorbhog, Barpeta, Pakabetbari, Bajali, Hajo-Sualkuchi, Barkhetri, Nalbari, and Tihu assembly constituencies.
  • Darrang-Udalguri Parliamentary constituency: Tamalpur, Goreswar, Rangia, Kamalpur, Bhergaon, Udalguri, Majbat, Tangla, Sipajhar, Mangaldai, and Dalgaon assembly constituencies.
  • Guwahati Parliamentary constituency: Goalpara (West), Dhudnoi, Chamaria, Boko-Chaygaon, Palasbari, Dispur, Dimoria, New Guwahati, Guwahati (Central), and Jalukbari assembly constituencies.
  • Diphu Parliamentary constituency: Bokajan, Howraghat, Diphu, Rongkhang, Amri, and Haflong assembly constituencies.
  • Karimganj Parliamentary constituency: Hailakandi, Algapur-Katlicherra, Karimganj (North), Karimganj (South), Patharkandi, and Ram Krishna Nagar assembly constituencies.
  • Silchar Parliamentary constituency: Lakhipur, Udharbond, Katigorah, Barkhola, Silchar, Sonai, and Dholai assembly constituencies.
  • Nagaon Parliamentary constituency: Jagiroad, Lahorighat, Morigaon, Dhing, Rupohihat, Samuguri, Nagaon-Batadraba, and Raha assembly constituencies.
  • Kaziranga Parliamentary constituency: Kaliabor, Barhampur, Binnakandi, Hojai, Lumding, Golaghat, Dergaon, Bokakhat, Khumtai, and Sarupathar assembly constituencies.
  • Sonitpur Parliamentary constituency: Dhekiajuli, Barchalla, Tezpur, Rangapara, Naduar, Biswanath, Behali, Gohpur, and Bihpuria assembly constituencies.
  • Lakhimpur Parliamentary constituency: Rongonadi, Lowboicha, Lakhimpur, Dhakuakhana, Dhemaji, Sissibargaon, Jonai, Sadiya, and Doomdooma assembly constituencies.
  • Dibrugarh Parliamentary constituency: Margherita, Digboi, Makum, Tinsukia, Chabua-Lahowal, Dibrugarh, Khowang, Duliajan, Tingkhong, and Naharkatia assembly constituencies.
  • Jorhat Parliamentary constituency: Sonari, Mahmora, Demow, Sibasagar, Nazira, Majuli, Teok, Jorhat, Mariani, and Titabor assembly constituencies.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top